The Budging Budget

Confession time:  P and I have never created a household budget.  Ever. I’m sure this is a surprise to no one that has read my previous posts, and if you haven’t please do…I will wait for you.  Seriously… scroll down, enjoy the read, laugh and I will meet you back up here.  I will give you a few minutes (a few imaginary minutes pass by).  Haha, good stuff, I know!

Alright, now back to the budget (or lack thereof).  I have read a few statistics about how many Americans, like myself, don’t operate with a budget each month regarding their finances.  Side note:  While searching for relevant statistics to incorporate into this blog, I found out a few things.  Did you know that April is National Financial Literacy Month?  April is also National Humor Month, National Pecan Month, and International Guitar Month?  Did you also know that a great way to write this blog is by enjoying a very refreshing 16 oz. Keystone Light?  I feel like I’m getting off track again…where were we, oh yes, something to do with a big word, Oh!  “Statistics”.

After reading several articles, the numbers vary but this is the gist of it:

The number of American households that don’t track their monthly spending is somewhere around 40%.  This was written in the shortest and simplest way by a  Bankrate.com survey in July 2011 which asked the question”Do you, or does your spouse, track your monthly spending against a budget, or not?”  Their findings:  40% do not, 58% do.  Second side note:  Anyone else get annoyed when surveys come out and 100% isn’t accounted for?   Like with the above survey, what in the heck did the other 2% say that wasn’t yes or no, or did they randomly go into serenading a Justin Bieber song, and Bankrate.com did not feel it was necessary to put that information in their little survey?  They should have, it would have been the most interesting part.

But what is a survey anyway?   Who cares about what a survey says unless it is on an episode of Family Feud?  The only thing about surveys is that it asks a question and automatically you should ask yourself if it applies to you.  Well survey says that this girl is a part of the 40% that doesn’t track her monthly spending and she is also part of the 2% that have Bieber Fever.

So on Easter Sunday I resurrected a budget.  P was golfing, but I felt like I was the one on par with what I should have been doing that day (have to include at least one pun per blog).  So here is an outline of the budget I made up for the month of April, please feel free to use and modify accordingly to your monthly bills:

April 2013 Budget

  • Mortgage/Rent:
  • Insurance:
  • Electric Bill:
  • Cell Phone:
  • Cable/Internet:
  • Jeep Payment (a.k.a. “The Reason Why I Drink”):
  • Student Loan Payment(s):
  • Credit Card Payment:
  • Fun Money (Entertainment):
  • Savings:
  • Gas:
  • Groceries:

Total amount:

Total income:

Excess/Overage:

So there it is, a budget that will budge by the end of the month, but at least there is now a tracking sheet of  where our money is going and how much of it is going where.

Thanks for reading!

Ang

3 thoughts on “The Budging Budget

  1. Guilty! On the 40%…I am, however, gratefully in the 98% majority on the Bieb. I was lucky enough to live in a protective bubble in which I will remain, in order not to catch that fever!

  2. Sweetbaboo, having a fever is never good, but a Bieber Fever is awesome!
    Pam, I haven’t checked it out, but thank you for the info, will have to look at it soon.

Leave a Reply

