Living in procrastiNATION

“Why do today what you can put off doing tomorrow?”  That has always been a mantra of mine that has served me…well actually, not so well over the years.  Putting off those pesky daily chores, workouts and errands is part of who I am.  I am just going  to come out and say it (or rather type it):  My name is Angela and I am a…procrastinator.  So much so, that if I was a superhero my not-so-super superhero name would be “The Procrastinator”.  Hmmmm, I wonder what people would say about “The Procrastinator”…

Look up in the sky, it’s a bird, it’s a plane…Oh S*#t, it’s The Procrastinator showing up 15 minutes too late again.

She can leap to her phone to hit the snooze alarm in a single bound.

The Procrastinator!  Saving the world the day after it needs to be saved.

Not really digging what people think of “The Procrastinator”?  Me either.

So let’s get back to the real world since this female Clark Kent is spent, and talk about what procrastination has to do with finances.  Turns out, procrastination costs money.  Which brings me to…drum roll please…

Frugoal Lesson #2:  Procrastination WILL cost you money!

How many of you live in this constant state of waiting until the last minute to do things?  Please tell me I’m not the only one.  But seriously, TELL ME, I love reading your comments!  Alright, if you don’t want to tell me, then I will tell you:  Living and being a citizen of procrastiNATION sucks! If you don’t believe me, here is a real life example about how something as simple as waiting to register for Bloomsday cost this little lady some big dollar bills. 

Note:  For those reading this that are not from the Spokane/Coeur d’Alene area, Bloomsday is an annual run/walk (or crawl for some including myself) that is approximately 7 1/2 miles and takes place in Spokane, Washington.  For those of you that are from the Spokane/Coeur d’Alene area…made you look.

The entrance fee for Bloomsday is $17.00, which is very reasonable.  This girl didn’t register right away because things kept coming up, then this girl put it off (the three part Real Housewives Of Atlanta reunion needed to be watched so it could be deleted from the DVR).  Then kept putting it off (working, earning a paycheck, and paying those bills, very important stuff).  Then putting it off some more (housework had to be done…okay can’t lie to you guys, housework still isn’t done, couldn’t even type that with a straight face).  Ultimately, excuses were made and registering for Bloomsday was not a top priority.  So, long story longer, last Monday, I get a call from P asking me if I registered yet (he got to register for Bloomsday free through his work).  This is how the conversation went:

P:  Did you register yet for Bloomsday?

A: No.

P:  The entrance fee just got upped to $32.00.

A:  WHAAAAAAAAT?!?!

Side note:  I am very open to optioning the above script.  Have your people call my people.

So because of procrastination, I am now a late “bloomie” which cost me way more money than if I would have been an early “bloomie”.  The point of this blog is this:  My mantra of “Why do today what you can put off doing tomorrow” isn’t working for me and has to be rewritten.  How will it be rewritten?  Not sure how yet, but it’s a work in progress, just like the girl writing this blog, and maybe some of you who are reading this as well.

P.S. The ironic thing is I have always been a late “bloomer” which has saved me money in the past.

P.S.S. Real life example of how being a late “bloomer” saves money:  Didn’t have to buy my first bra until I was 19.  Pretty sure even Dave Ramsey would be proud of my savings on that.

P.S.S.S. “P.S I Love You” is a great movie!

6 thoughts on “Living in procrastiNATION

  1. Not to pour Salt on an open wound, BUT…I did warn you several times to buy your ticket to Scarywood for my birthday early and “The Procrastinator” cost me the night with you! This is a good quality to confront and eradicate in ourselves! I’ll get around to confronting myself tomorrow. Oh, no wait! I’m busy tomorrow! Maybe next week when I’m not so busy!

Leave a Reply

