Cabo Part 1: MexiCans vs. MexiCan’ts

This story begins 13 months ago when a boy asked a girl to marry her, put a ring on it, and they decided to have a destination wedding in Cabo.  What does this story have to do with this blog and my frugoal?  The answer is simple: the boy is my brother, the girl is my newly minted sister-in-law, and P and I had a lot of saving to do to get to this wedding.

P and I had been to Mexico once before.  We went to Cozumel in 2010, and though it was a great time, we did it 100% the wrong way financially.  We “paid” for it by credit card.  We bought all of our souvenirs by draining out what little savings we had, paid for all our excursions by credit card (damn that entrancing plastic), and all of our meals outside the resort were put on the…credit card.  Are you sick yet?  I know I am, and it isn’t the water in Mexico making me run for the toilet this time.  It is my sheer stupidity and my bank upping my credit limit that was giving me debtarrhea.  Side note:  That is probably the worst joke I have written to date on this blog.  You either enjoyed it or it made you sick and now YOU are the one running for the toilet.

So in Spring 2012, when Steve (my bro) and Kelsey (sis-in-law) announced their wedding would take place in May 2013, P and I knew this trip would have to be saved up for in full and NOT PAID FOR IN PLASTIC!  The 2010 Cozumel trip was behind us, but still fresh in our minds and unfortunately still wrapped into our credit card debt.   We were not going to repeat the same mistakes this go round in Mexico.

Now all three of you reading this may be thinking “Woman, you are soooooooo stupid!  You are in credit card debt up to your mesmerizing eyeballs!  Save your money and don’t go to Mexico and just send them a gift!”  You are correct on two counts.  Yes, we are in credit card debt and yes, my eyeballs really are mesmerizing but there are some things in life you can miss and some things in life you can’t.  Any recent episode of “How I Met Your Mother” or a television interview with any Kardashian, ever, you can miss and life will go on.   Some things, however, you can’t miss  and your baby brother’s wedding is one of those things.  We were going to that wedding no matter what!  And we were going to that wedding without any assistance from our credit card(s)!!

So saving had to happen to get us both to Mexico for the week of Steve and Kelsey’s wedding.  Luckily, the betrothed couple gave plenty of notice to their guests to save up.  Save up we did and in late November of last year we had enough to pay for the trip in full and not put any debt on our credit cards…and away we Cab”go”.  Side note:  While reading this aloud, that joke was also pretty bad.  Please comment at the end of this blog and let me know which joke truly was worse:  debtarrhea or Cab”go”.

Before we boarded our flight to Cabo, we had enough cash on us for tips for the resort staff throughout the week (housekeeping, waitstaff, bartenders, etc.), enough for one excursion for each of us to do outside of the resort, and an itsy bitsy teenie weenie polka dot amount of money for a souvenir (think   “Chiclets”).  Ahh, a full week at an all inclusive resort (all we can eat, drink and gain) plus airfare and spending cash.  Nothing was put on that credit card when we boarded that flight to Cabo!  Not a cent!  We won the battle…right?

As we were traveling 30,000 feet in the air, my only panic attack came from the thought of the plane crashing (which is nothing new) but I was pleasantly surprised by one thing on this flight.  I had zero anxiety about money for this vacation (a new feeling and unexpected change from ghosts from vacations past).  I felt good and relaxed, or at least I would as soon as we landed safely in Cabo.

We touched down in Cabo (can I get an “Amen”) and then were shuttled to our hotel: The lovely and charming Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Resort.  After checking in I was granted (along with everyone else that came for the wedding) the most beautiful gift one can get on vacation…the purple bracelet.   This magical bracelet, placed nice and snug around my wrist, would annoy me at first.  That short lived annoyance would soon turn into a hot and steamy love affair.  The purple bracelet would get me as much food as I wanted to eat and as many amazing…oh gosh, promised myself I wouldn’t get verklempt while writing this, but happy tears, happy tears…adult beverages as I wanted to drink for the next week.  Who needs to spend money outside the resort where the purple bracelet loses all of its powers?  With the purple bracelet on I felt like a Power Ranger at the Hola Grand Faro.  A drunken Power Ranger.  Yes!  I felt like a Whiskey Sour Power Ranger calling for “Purple Ranger Power!”  This vacation was going to be so much fun and be great for my pocketbook too (my liver was the only thing in my life which would not be benefiting from this vacation, but you can’t please everyone).

Then two days into vacation, reality hit me.  Reality hit me, and it hurt.  I only took into consideration what my financial  Can vs. Can’t lists for this vacation was.  Those lists are as follows:

Ang’s MexiCan Do List:

  • Eat at the resort
  • Drink at the resort
  • Tips for those cleaning our room
  • Tips for those bringing my drinks while I eat
  • Tips for those making my drinks and bringing my drinks while I don’t eat
  • Only 1 excursion outside the resort
  • Taking pics of all of the above

Ang’s MexiCan’t Do List:

  • Anything and everything that is not on Ang’s MexiCan Do list

I didn’t consider P, my other financial half.  He had lists of his own.  His lists are as follows:

P’s MexiCan Do List:

  • Anything and everything that is not on Ang’s MexiCan Do list

P’s MexiCan’t Do List:

  • P left this list blank

Houston, we may be in Cabo, but we have a problem…

To be continued…

4 thoughts on “Cabo Part 1: MexiCans vs. MexiCan’ts

  1. Cab”go” was baby far the more lame. Definitely would have gotten eaten by would animals. So labor it was limping. The debtarrhea was only line bathroom humor. Excusable.

Leave a Reply

