Hate to start off any post with negativity, but I just want to shout from some rooftop, hilltop, or IHOP that “I HATE CREDIT CARDS…Cards…cards!”  Side note:  Apparently in my fantasy declaration of credit card hatred there is an echo.  Anyone with me on this?  Anybody at all?!

The reason why I hate them is obvious:  I was rode hard and put away in credit card debt.  How did this happen?  Fancy meals out, shopping trips, traveling, and even groceries.  Yes, I know, all things that easily could have been budgeting out and paid for in cash.  But alas, they weren’t because immediate gratification was calling my name and a card made of plastic was doing the same.

So what is a gal to do?  Considered getting a second job to help alleviate my financial woes.  I even answered my first ad on craigslist.  It was for a back up singer/dancer for a band that did corporate events.  I thought…Dang, this is perfect!  Hours that won’t conflict with my full time work…and I can carry a tune AND I can dance like Napoleon Dynamite…Gosh!  So I replied to the ad, albeit a few glasses of wine in me.  I stated that “I was interested, unless you are a serial killer or a rapist.”  No response.  Whew, dodged that bullet.  Then I considered using this melodic voice of mine to do some type of voice work over the phone where I get paid to talk.  The only profession  that came to mind was a phone sex operator…egads no!  Though I could be a phone cuddle operator and charge extra for spooning talk?  Million dollar idea?!  Let me know what you guys think!

This whole extra income thing wasn’t panning out so I ultimately decided to get help from the godfather of debt-free living, THE Dave Ramsey!  I bought his book “The Total Money Makeover” on Amazon.com (probably paid for it by credit card) and read it in a matter of hours (no applause please…not as impressive as it sounds because it has lots of pictures).  In this book, the wise Mr. Ramsey has a challenge for the reader:  To take on the guy or gal in the mirror.  This challenge is one of the reasons I started this blog.  What better way to be self-reflective than to write honestly about what your finances are?  Well one of the financial woes I was honest about from the get-go was the credit card debt (over $12,000.00).  If you missed that post (which I must say is highly entertaining) the link is below so you can read the details of how the interest rates got lowered and the debt got consolidated…psssst…just a heads up, it is the “One step forward” part of the post if you don’t want to read the whole thing.

https://frugoal.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/one-step-forward-then-two-jeeps-back/

So now that you are caught up with the credit card debt drama, I have an update!  Only 5 months in and already $1,500.00 of that credit card debt is gone!  What a difference an interest rate makes!  Though I still have trouble sleeping and wake up with the credit card debt sweats, it is so nice to see that debt going down.  The credit cards are still open but are now in their final resting place.  They are buried in a tupperware container under 6 inches of ice in the freezer.  It was time to freeze those “assets”.

Please  leave those comments (I love them), e-mail me (thefrugoal@gmail.com), or tweet me (@frugoal)!

Now go put those credit cards in the freezer!

Ang

9 thoughts on “The Credit Card Debt Sweats

  1. Just tell me what IHOP you are on and I will be right next to you making your echo louder. I have finally paid off the credit cards (for the second time) two months ago. You can do it too.

  2. Reblogged this on Bex Space and commented:
    I will be on that IHOP with you. I just paid off the cards two months ago. You can do it too. I also found Mr. Ramsey motivating.

  3. Thanks for visiting my “pun-ny” photoblog and leaving a comment. My wife and I are just getting out from under a mountain of credit-card debt. We have been on a cash-only basis for over 2 years now–other than a car loan and our mortgage, if we don’t have the money for something, we just don’t buy it!

  4. I am with totally with you. I hate credit cards but they have bailed me out a few times. But then it got out of hand and next thing you know $20,000 in credit card debt. I have them almost paid off though. Two more years and I’ll be free from credit card debt once again.

  5. You are a very funny lady! I can totally relate; it took a bankruptcy for us to finally stop spending over our means. But it’s all good now. We been able to buy a house and a car since then, and we pay all our bills on time. $12,000 isn’t that bad in the scheme of things. You’ll have it paid off before you know it.

Leave a Reply

