Fast Food Fast Episode I: A Kernel of Hope

A not so long time ago in a galaxy not that far away…

FAST FOOD FAST

Episode I

A KERNEL OF HOPE

Financial turmoil has engulfed this girl’s republic by way of fast food and booze.  Her and her bank balance are in dispute.

Hoping to resolve the matter with one month of deadly will power, she has decided to stop any junk food and alcohol from entering her planet.

While temptation threatens to destroy her progress, a kernel of hope is on it’s way to settle the conflict….

It has been 9 days since my fast food fast has begun.  If you don’t know the hell…errrr I mean challenge I signed up for, please click to read the previous post:

http://www.frugoal.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/fast-food-fast/

To sum up:  no junk, no booze, and no fun.  When am I supposed to feel better?  I hope soon.  I must admit I had a few french fries (though not at a fast food place) and I did have a diet pop at a bar.  Temptation is everywhere though.  Between work and being in the midst of a play, fast food (and a drink or 2) is a very tempting option.  I just want a beer…9 days without a damn beer has this gal feeling parched.  It doesn’t help that just today my brother sent me a pic of a beer with the caption “Such a refreshing beverage after a rough day”.  

As for the money saving aspect of this venture…jury is still out.

The worst part about these 9 days (TMI portion of the blog) PMS has struck.  To every woman PMS means something different.  Some women experience mild mood swings, bloating, and cramping.  Personally, PMS means two things:  1) I watch Snapped marathons and take the side of the women who offed their husbands, and 2) I WANT SALT.  Seriously PMS might as well be short for Pour More Salt.  I have poured salt on oatmeal, salt on avocado, and saturated my beer with salt (oh beer how I miss you).  These first 9 days have been rough.

There have been a few silver linings though.  I have noticed that my skin has started to clear up.  What was once a canvas for some hardcore chin acne is now starting to just be a chin.  The one upside to acne was getting carded more, but since I’m not buying booze this month I will not even miss that perk.  I also am down 3 pounds.  Not anything special, but it is something and I think that it is a pretty impressive  weight loss considering my workouts have been lacking over the last several weeks.

Today was a rough day for me.  I was questioning if the past 9 days have been worth it.  Should I stick it out for the month?  When will will my cravings subside?  Will this little experiment actually save money?  Should I just say “to hell with it” and go to McDonald’s and get a cheeseburger then go to the gas station and buy a tall boy?

As I was pondering all of these questions while eating my lunch (a mediocre salad) something happened.  A very small something happened.  Some may even call it a “sign”.  I looked down and a kernel of hope looked up at me and smiled.

IMAG0165_1

Some may find this corny but I felt like this little kernel was cheering me on to keep up with this whole “healthy eating” thing and continue my fast food fast!

19 thoughts on “Fast Food Fast Episode I: A Kernel of Hope

  1. You need to let the “Neal” side take over. You need to get too cheap to even want to buy a beer or a fast food burger. You will then be on the road to a boring life like me. Always here for a pep talk!

  2. Just put the fork down and back away! You can do it! You must resist the evil little possessed kernel! Not even Jesus smiles that much when he appears on a grilled cheese sandwich! He’s just trying to make you look sweet and hopeful, but eventually the programming will kick in and he’ll make you SNAP! RUN, Ang, RUN!!!!

      1. It (or should I say he) did talk to me, but I didn’t want to include it in this post. Already a crazy cat lady so can’t be a crazy corn lady too.

  3. RUN ANG HIDE SEEK SHELTER IT ATTACK OF THE KILLER KERNAL COMING TO RADE YOUR HOMES AND STEAL YOUR BABIES AWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!by the way good job on the fast

Leave a Reply

