Fast Food Fast: The Conclusion…Of The Beginning

In case you are new to this blog (welcome back to those that are old to it) I started the month of September with the intention of doing a fast food fast for one month.

You can read all about it here:

http://www.frugoal.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/fast-food-fast/

And here:

http://www.frugoal.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/fast-food-fast-episode-i-a-kernel-of-hope/

If you don’t want to read my awesome aforementioned posts (if you have already read them may I just write in all caps YOU ROCK), here is the gist:  No fast food, no booze, no pop and no junk food (unless I make it myself) during the month of September.  The ultimate goal for the 30 days: To save some money and maybe lose a few pounds.

Now if you have a calendar nearby you will notice it is October 2.  The 30 day challenge has left the building.  Did I cheat?  What were the results? Am I currently downing a vodka and coke as I am writing this blog post?

Whoa, whoa, whoa!  One thing at a time people.  Let’s begin with the whole cheating thing.  Yes.  Okay, I admit it.  I cheated with a coke here, some ginger ale there and I did have a few ounces of wine, some snickers may have sneaked in and can I just exclaim in a melodramatic fashion “DAMN YOU SUBWAY!  DAMN YOU AND YOUR SUBTEMBER!”  With all that being said, or rather written, I am still pretty dang proud of myself.  I could have listened to my inner voice like I had so many times before when she said to me:  “Good going Ang.  You sabotaged yourself and your diet so you might as well go crazy.  Go to McDonald’s.  Go drink a beer.  Go buy yourself a king size Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup and Reese’s Pieces”.  This fast food fast was different.  This time I told that inner voice to “go scratch” (terminology I learned from watching Real Housewives Of New Jersey) and didn’t give in.  I stayed away from McDonald’s fries (my weakness), though I did ask to smell my friend/fellow co-worker’s McD’s fries, and she let me (thanks Sue!).  I even went out to the bar with friends a few nights and I sipped on club soda with a lime.  I didn’t let the fact that I slipped a little be an excuse to go off the rails, which was pretty empowering.

The next burning question on your minds I’m sure:  What were the results?

Even though I didn’t follow my rules to a T and had a few setbacks, there are some definite positives to doing this fast food fast.  Here is the list:

1.  I am down 6 pounds!

2.  My skin is clearer and soft as a baby’s bottom.

3.  My mind is clearer.  I’m pretty sure there are some brain cells that have started to rejuvenate themselves.

4.  The liver is living again.

5.  Saved money…a lot.  Especially by not drinking.  I haven’t crunched the actual total, but the rough estimate is close to $300.00.  No wonder mormons can afford so many kids!

Lastly, am I back to boozing and cruising the drive-thru lanes now that it is October?  The answer:  Heck  to the No.  Finally starting to feel better and who knows?  Maybe I can drop some more lbs. and save more money.

So now that I have answered all of your questions that I thought you would pose to me, I now have one question for you:  Who wants to do this with me?  If you don’t think you can do a whole month, start with just a week, or even just a weekend.  Your wallet will get fatter and your waistline will get smaller.  Anyone?

As always, thank you for stopping by and I love hearing from you so leave a comment below, or e-mail me: thefrugoal.gmail.com, or my twitter handle is @frugoal.

Thanks again!

Ang

12 thoughts on “Fast Food Fast: The Conclusion…Of The Beginning

      1. Haha. I should. I live on jelly beans and candy. Meh… I want to be MORE healthy though… I just don’t want to eat healthy…

  1. I am all over this! —- Side note: I am pretty sure that California is the primary state responsible for the destruction of so many trees here in America. Especially since the amount of ads and coupons (mostly for fast food and other restaurants) that come in my mail daily is larger than a Sunday newspaper in Idaho. The coupons constantly tempt me because it feels like I am saving money, but in reality I still spend more than I do by fixing dinner at home. I think someone should right a blog about this trickery. hint hint… 😉

    1. It is on my increasingly long list of future blog posts! Let me know how it goes for you and all that is good, bad, and ugly about it. Trying to make October a completely “pop-free” and “booze-free” month and really focus on not drinking all my calories!

Leave a Reply

