10 Things Not So Fancy BUT Free

Egads!  Life has a way of deciding to be expensive at inopportune times.  So this gal is sick of talking about money, thinking about money and looking at money.  I even took Billy Idol’s “Mony Mony” off my  workout playlist because it reminded me too much of the word “money”.  Needless to say this blog is not about money (spending or saving it) it is about all things free.

Free.  Nothing is for free anymore right?  Wrong.  I came up with a creative list of ways to bide your time until spending money is an option for fun again.  Until then, I hope this list helps.

1.  Sleep.  Not only is sleep 100% free BUT it is so easy you can do it laying down (bah dum chi).  There is also the bonus of dreaming.  Now dreaming is also free but it comes with a downside.  If it is a good dream, it must come to an end.  If it is a bad dream, then you just don’t have a good night’s rest.  Sleep fits into anyone’s budget.

2.  Daydreaming.  Though this is not as rejuvenating as number 1 on my list it has the perk of you being in the driver’s seat of your daydream.  You can steer your daydream anyway you want.  For instance just today (when I may or may not have been working) I was thinking about the Seahawks.  They are good this year.  Really good.  Just maybe good enough to go all the way.  Oh wait, I am daydreaming and have full control of this situation so they just WON THE SUPER BOWL! Side note to Richard Sherman:  You complete me.

3.  Playing with yourself (oh God, I meant playing “by” yourself not playing “with” yourself, but no judgement if you take it that way).  Spend some alone time with you.  After all, you are with yourself 24/7, so you better get to loving yourself.  Go window shopping, take a stroll, or make yourself a nice bubble bath.  Spend time with you.

4.  Vent to a friend.  Venting to a friend is therapy.  It is always good to stay positive, but sometimes you just have to lay out on the table what is irking you.  It is healthy and normal to “irk”.

5.  Throw a pity party for one.  This one isn’t fun BUT it is free.  I think all of us have those moments when we question what we are doing with our lives.  Self-doubt starts to enter our thoughts and all of a sudden you are the only one who RSVP’d to your pity party.

TMI ALERT: A personal example happened to me a few weeks ago when I was in the midst of being my own worst enemy and thinking to myself that I wasn’t thin enough, pretty enough and worst of all not living up to my true potential (just to give you an idea of the incredibly pathetic state I was in I was watching Lifetime’s “The Anna Nicole Smith Story”).  To make matters worse P was in his man cave playing GTA V and I could hear some sort of lady of the night whispering something about baby oil.  Why were the women in GTA V more appealing than me?  Why would he rather escape to a world where women could be controlled with a button vs. being with me and having me bawling my eyes out about all of my insecurities and talk about how much cellulite I have on my…hmmmmm.  I guess I would pick the ladies in GTA V over me after writing this out.  Come to think of it, just ignore this one in the list.

6.  Move.  Psssst.  I have a secret to tell you.  Exercise is free.  There are always a million excuses not to do it ( I think I personally have used all million of them) but if you take the time to just move it is worth it.  Who can’t afford a quick 10 minute walk?  As a matter of fact do some lunges as you are reading this blog.  Get up and get down with your bad self!

7.  Cleaning.  Though 7 is my favorite number, number 7 is not my fave on this list but is free.  Vacuuming “sucks” while your doing it (see what I did there) but it does feel good to have been productive with your day and to look upon a clean house.

8.  Explore your DVD collection.  Currently I am getting lost in Lost.  P has all of the seasons on Blu-ray, but I have never actually watched the show.  Currently I am in the midst of the “black smoke” of Season 2.   So go find an old movie/tv show that is in your basement or garage and get to watching.  Side note:  If anyone spoils the show for me, I swear on all that is Mr. Eko I will go Sayid on your ass. 

9.  Be a kid for a day.  Remember when life was much more simple as a kid?  I know I had to get inventive with things to do with my time, but I remember it was all fun and FREE.  I loved to write and journal.  I loved to belt to Mariah Carey songs and make everything a microphone while serenading myself in the mirror.  I loved to dance and draw and take pictures.  Find that inner child and go be a kid, if not for a day, for just a few hours.

10.  Find the silver lining.  Life happens, bills happen, stress happens, and a huge majority of things happen for a reason.  So when life throws you little things like emergency root canals or needing new tires for a jeep or people spoiling the new Walking Dead episodes on facebook before you get a chance to watch them, just remember someone ALWAYS has it a whole lot worse than you do and just breathe.

Signing off while searching for that silver lining and taking deep breathes,

Ang

P.S. Thanks for reading and please, please, please no LOST spoilers.

6 thoughts on “10 Things Not So Fancy BUT Free

  1. You forgot to include my favorite free thing to do….question your sanity! It’s a real “Wonderful” experience! It’s almost like traveling to a place where when you’re annoyed, you can order, “Off with their heads!” I love that!!!! Oh, and there’s even a cat for you to talk to!

Leave a Reply

