Saving The Green This Halloween

How many of us spend an obscene amount of money on Halloween costumes each year?  I know I have.  Instead of feeling ghoulish this girl is downright foolish for spending so much on a Halloween costume I will never wear again.  So what is a girl that is trying to save money to do?  Go thrift store shopping!  The thrift stores may provide a much needed Halloween costume this year that won’t break the bank.  My finds?  Well why don’t you have a look for yourself:

For $4.95 this costume is perfect for your little boy or girl. I'm always hearing my friends tell me how cute their kids are they could just eat them.
For $4.95 this costume is perfect for your little boy or girl. I’m always hearing my friends tell me how cute their kids are they could just eat them.
For the low price of $3.95 this costume would be great for a witch, sorcerous, or just a hippie who isn’t into tie dye and is going through a dark phase.
At $5.95 this costume piece works on many levels.  You can be He-Man or Arnold Schwarzenegger in his Mr. Universe days.  After Halloween you can also just wear this under your clothes and cancel your gym membership.
At $5.95 this costume piece works on many levels. You can be He-Man or Arnold Schwarzenegger in his Mr. Universe days. After Halloween you can also just wear this under your clothes and cancel your gym membership.
Best find of the day:  Brand new wigs for under $2.00.  Wigs transform any costume.  Side note:  Does the chick on the package look like Leann Rimes to anybody else?
Best find of the day: Brand new wigs for under $2.00. Wigs transform any costume. Side note: Does the chick on the package look like Leann Rimes to anybody else?

Bottom line:  The thrift store is where I am getting my Halloween costumes from now on.  For those of you who get “icked” by the thought of wearing other people’s clothes here are a few things to keep in mind:

  • Halloween is only for one day.  You’re only in costume for just a few hours. Is it really worth the money?
  • The costumes at your local thrift store were only worn for a few hours.  Isn’t it worth the money?
  • Save your green this Halloween, because Christmas shopping is just around the corner (ugh…but that is a whole other blog).

Thanks for stopping by! Now go get thrifting!

Ang

6 thoughts on “Saving The Green This Halloween

  1. Another Budget Halloween tip is if you have friends that wear your size you can swap past costumes with each other. Or revamp old costumes if your crafty. The dollar store sells a lot of cool accessories and masks for those who have a hot black dress that can be turned into a witch or cat costume.

  2. Two years ago, I found most of what I needed to be a crazy cat lady at the thrift store. I think I only spent about $10 or $15 on everything, which is much cheaper than the $30 costume I bought last year.

Leave a Reply

