Life’s Jarring Moments

So I must begin this post by stating that this is not an original idea of mine by any means but it is simple, fun and most importantly FREE! Towards the end of 2012, a facebook friend of mine posted this idea from pinterest and I saw it and thought to myself “That is a fantabulous idea and I will do it for 2013”.  Then something tragic (and by “tragic” I mean “typical”) happened:  2013 came and went and I didn’t do it.  However, redemption came in the form of 2014, a new year full of opportunities to do all of the things I procrastinated at doing in 2013.  With all of that being stated and without further ado, I would like to present to you the idea that is now  a reality (I wish there was a way to accurately type  drum roll sounds):

THE 2014 GOOD TIMES JAR

IMAG0450_1

So the idea is simple.  Put all of your memorable moments of the year on a slip of paper and stick it in the jar (if you don’t have a jar use a vase, or a glass, or just about anything that you can stick things in).  At the end of the year you open the jar, vase, glass, or stick things in thing and relive all of the best/funniest/memorable moments of 2014.  You can use your jar to help write your Christmas letter or just bust it out New Year’s Eve and read them all with a bottle…errrr…glass of wine.  Maybe at the end of the year you can read them then light them on fire as a symbolic “Out with the old, in with the new” gesture.

Obviously you see my 2014 Good Times Jar in the picture above.  Why name it that?  The answer is simple, I had a sticker that said “Good Times” on it that fit the size of the jar.  I am using my jar to celebrate all things memorable in 2014 (focusing on the funny and positive) and happy to announce that I am sticking my first piece of paper in there with today’s date.

IMAG0454_1 (1)

Yes, it’s true.  I flashed my entire office.  My pants caught on my car door this morning and I thought I heard a rip.  Upon inspection with my hand I noticed that it was just a simple button popping off of the back, and went about my merry 30 minute commute.  At the start of my shift I was up and walking around the entire office doing a little bit of this and that (side note:  working in the “this and that” business is pretty awesome).  It seemed a little drafty, but our office is always cold in the mornings.  About 45 minutes into the day, a co-worker summoned me to her desk and asked if my pants had a rip in the butt.  I reached back and my blue granny panties and a hint of cellulite touched my hand.  My butt was completely hanging out of my pants!!!!  She ended it on a high note by saying “At least you are wearing underwear”.  Ugggggghhhhh.  Thank you baby Jesus I had my gym bag in the car with some long yoga pants that I could change into!

Despite the humiliation,  I am proud to document that January 9, 2014, I survived exposing my undies to a very cool breeze and some concerned onlookers (the plus side is that at least I don’t work with the public).

Thank you again for spending your time reading this little blog of mine and maybe you will join me in life’s “jar“ring moments of 2014!

Ang

13 thoughts on “Life’s Jarring Moments

  1. Aww, my hunnybunny! If it’s any consolation my family has let me walk around with my clothes on inside out and back words several times (even my sweats with the tag sticking out my buttcrack!) I also went to school one day and discovered that I’d put on my underwear sideways! Yes, that’s right, sideways! I will join you in your Good Times challenge, but I will do it with an art journal.

  2. It is always good to stick with the tried and true ways! I enjoy the reminder (even if it is not original thought, it is reminding us of this idea!) I want to have some good times, so the jar will be on my ‘to do’ list for 2014!!

  3. BWAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA! Oh my goodness!.. My bestie Justin (who is mostly blind) has done the ripped pants business a few times and eve got home after an entire day, and only realised when he took them off!!

    Thank goodness you had someone say something eh!… lol

    A fond memory you will look back on and celebrate when it comes time to reflecting on all the memories in that jay eh? lol

    ML
    x

Leave a Reply

