A Couch With A View

ImageI am really NOT holding up on my promises to blog more, and I am sorry.  This household has been plagued with illness for the last two weeks.  First P got hit with the flu, then he had a nasty toothache which turned into two root canals and a wisdom tooth being pulled.  I was playing nurse for P for a week (and trust me it wasn’t the fun kind of playing “nurse” *wink*) when I then got hit with the worst sore throat followed by an even worse cold…ugh.  So with all of the aforementioned excuses, I just have not been writing, nor have I really had much to write about.  The majority of time spent by me (especially this week) has been spent in bed (again, not the fun kind of time in bed *wink*) or on the couch watching a crap ton of television.

I have come to one conclusion spending so much time on my back lately (for the last time, NOT the fun kind of time on my back *double wink*):  Daytime TV is AWFUL!!!  I channel surfed for a majority of my time.  Side note:  Does anyone know how many calories this kind of surfing burns?

A quick recap of my time spent vegging out:

There are so many shows that just focus on the foolish and the ignorant.  It is astonishing to me how many women don’t know who their “baby daddy” is.

Then there are channels like HGTV and the Food Network which make me feel like an inferior housewife who can’t decorate or cook.

Don’t even get me started on the History Channel.  Or rather, the “History” Channel (yep, that’s right I just pulled out the old writer’s trick of bitchy air quotes).  My attention must have been elsewhere in my history classes when all of the lessons regarding men wielding axes and people living in swamps were taught.

Lastly, this girl loves her Bravo but even this channel is lackluster during the daytime.  An example, the movie “Crossroads” was on yesterday.  THE “Crossroads” with Britney Spears in it.  Double Ugh.

So instead of watching television all week, which I thought would be fun, I slept (which was actually pretty fun). Tried to do a couple of chores around the house but got super tired and promptly slept some more.

Other random notes that I will likely tweet later to my 15 followers:

Had a dream about getting some amazing deals at an unadvertised Victoria’s Secret clearance sale.  Not sure what this type of dream means.

My guesses:

A)  I am officially old.

B) Fantasizing about a good deal.

C)  In desperate need of new underwear.

D)  All of the above.

If you have Netflix instant streaming I highly recommend the documentary “The Woman Who Wasn’t There: The True Story Of An Incredible Deception”.  I don’t want to give anything away but I was fascinated by this story.

Your house really does pay you to clean.  Feeling better today so decided to do some spring cleaning and I am now $0.30 richer.  Truly feel like a baller…or maybe a shot caller?  Haven’t decided yet.

Happy Wife = Happy Life Tip of the Day:  Husbands, if you tell your wives “You look so beautiful”, just end the statement there.  Don’t say “You look so beautiful.  The light is hitting you just right”.  I’m not going to name any names, or initials, but a certain someone said that to this blogger recently, and let’s just say the light wasn’t the only thing that was “hitting” just right.

Yowzas!  That was a very random blog, but at least I blogged!

Thanks again for reading and feel free to comment below or hit me up on twitter.

Ang

23 thoughts on “A Couch With A View

  1. Oh God, when I was pregnant with Isak I was put on hospital bed rest for 80 days. Yes, 80. I can totally sympathize with the daytime tv thing. My favorite days were SVU marathon days. My low points were Toddlers & Tiaras marathon days. And of course all the pregnant ladies on my floor would watch the TLC shows about everything that goes wrong in a pregnancy and usually turns out with everything going wrong with the birth. Bad viewing choice…but I couldn’t turn it off LOL!

    1. Hahaha! TLC is awful but you can’t look away…like a glittered trainwreck! I can’t even imagine being in bed for nearly 3 months. Props to you for getting through that! I could barely get through 3 days!

  2. I am so sorry to hear of your battling illness at your house! I hope you will all be feeling 100% better, I used to find, when my children got sick, it went around a couple of times, in challenging times. I think you should never have to apologize, my dear! Thanks for the nice comment on my recent post! I like your sense of humor in the midst of all of this! Channel surfing should give you a few credits for exercise! Smiles, Robin

  3. Hilarious! Recently I spent a week flat on my back (also not the fun kind. unfortunately.) And, I couldn’t agree more about daytime tv. It sucks! Sleeping, which is one of my best things, was pretty good, though. Great Post! 🙂

      1. No problem. Instead of working on my own blog, I’ve been perusing yours. You’re very funny. 🙂 I’ve had my blog for a week and am still finding my way. Like you wanting to post more often, I’ve wanted to post everyday, but I think I’m going to have to re-think that. It’s more of an effort than people might think it is. Keep up the good work!

      2. Thank you so much! Just bought my camera, so going to start vlogging soon as well! Keep up with the blogging! It is a little work, but well worth all of the kind words and support you will get from family, friends and fellow bloggers!

  4. You’re welcome. And, nice! Oh, I’ll definitely keep blogging. I’m still finding my way, but I love it. I love writing. 🙂

    1. Hahaha! It is so true! When you feel like crapola it is the absolute pits! Whatever O got it is still hanging on…bleck! Thank you so much for stopping by my lil ole blog though!

  5. Oh my goodness.. Look at that faaaccceeeee…. lol

    I’m thinking one really doesn’t burn too many calories channel surfing – BUT surely more calories than if you were sleeping.

    ML
    x

Leave a Reply

