A Little Game Called “Just The Tip”.

Hello All!

So how many of you struggle with eating out?  Okay, that sounds dirty.

Let me start over.

How many of you struggle with the tip?  How much?  How little?  Still sounds dirty.

One more time.

When receiving any sort of service from another person, what is the appropriate amount of money to give the person who has serviced you?  DAMMIT!

Let’s just make this as simple as possible.

How much is the appropriate amount to tip a server when dining out?

It is common knowledge that a 15% tip is the standard, but I have friends and family that tip 20%-25% without even batting an eye.  Am I the only diner that gets anxiety about tipping the appropriate amount and running through all kinds of variables to ultimately fill out the tip line on the bill?  Here is a few examples of some of the questions that race through my mind when tipping:

Was my drink constantly full or was I parched throughout my meal?

Did the food come at the appropriate time?

Did the server check in on us?

Did the server check in on us too much?

Did I have a great experience?

Was the server’s attitude that of awesomeness or a little douchey?

And the last question always is:

Does the server deserve a standard 15%, or a tad more or a tad less?

Side note:  Does the 15% tip include the total amount of the meal AND tax?   I always include the tax, but should I be?

I want to hear your thoughts on this.  So please comment below, or e-mail me @thefrugoal@gmail.com or share your tips about tipping on twitter @frugoal.

Thanks for reading and please, please, please give me your input.  Happy weekend and may the tipping forces be with you!

Ang

 

9 thoughts on “A Little Game Called “Just The Tip”.

  1. I rarely give the server more than 15%. If he or she is truly outstanding, maybe 20%, which amount also happens to be easier to calculate in my head than 15%. And if the server sucked (not literally), I will occasionally give only 10%, but when I do that, I leave a note indicating why. I wouldn’t want the server to think I was just bad at math.
    BUT, I always exclude the tax before calculating the tip. Where I live, the meal tax is 9.5%, and the server does not deserve to be tipped based upon the price of the meal plus and the tax. That is non-negotiable.

  2. I believe that the tip should be based on the cost of the meal without the tip. That being said, I don’t abide by that at all and I believe in at least 20% unless the service was bad.

  3. I tip at least 20%, usually a bit more, if the service was good, 15% if it was just OK, and 10% if it was pretty bad. I used to wait tables and it was a very difficult job for very little pay. Most people have no clue how to tip so I was often stiffed or undertipped (or maybe I just sucked as a server). I made $2.13/hour (which was standard), so tips were supposed to be the bulk of my pay, but I don’t think most people realized this.

    1. I am sure I always tip around 20% since I include the sales tax in the final amount. I am with you. I was a bartender and cocktail waitress for 2 years (felt like 20) and I would serve people all night and some never tipped, or would throw me a dollar here and there…frustrating.

  4. I love this post! Thanks for giving me a break from a serious moment! I’m curious, has anyone has ever NOT left a tip for any reason?

Leave a Reply

