Credit Card Debt Downdate

Hello All!  It is one hopping Friday night in this house.  It is 6:09 P.M. and I am dressed in my jammies.  Does this girl know how to party or what?!  Since my dance card is empty this Friday night, I thought to myself, “Ang, what better time to update your readers on what the heck is going on with your credit card debt.”  Then I thought, “If your credit card debt is going down, would it really be an update?  Or wouldn’t it be more of a downdate.  Oh Ang, you clever girl.”   So here it is:  My credit card downdate.  Enjoy.

At the beginning of this year my credit card debt was a little over $10,000.00.  I decided to shout from the rooftops (or rather post a blog) that by the end of this year I would be credit card debt free.  Here it is if you haven’t read it or if you just want to read it again because it is THAT awesome:

https://frugoal.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/my-big-proclamation/

Well this year is well over a third of the way over and I am sad to report that I am nowhere where I should be.  Mind you, the credit card debt is going down (hence the clever name of this post).  It is down by a $1,000.00.  Which is awesome, but if I keep going at this pace, it will be a couple of more years before I am out of this debt.

So why the slow pace.  Life.  My brakes needed to be fixed, the jeep needed new tires, P needed not one, not two, but three root canals.  Any extra money has gone to all of these little “surprises” life likes to throw at us.  Just paid the tires off…yeah!  Just need to get that damn dentist bill paid then I will get back on track again.

So how can we make those dollars streeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeech just a little bit more?  We actually traded in our jeep for an older jeep which cut down the payment per month by over $100.00.  Sweetness!

P and I have also discussed cutting off our cable (sniffle, sniffle).  We have gone without TV before (for 4 years) and survived.  I must admit, we have had TV for almost 2 years now and I am in love.  I love my mind numbing reality TV:  “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo”, “Real Housewives of Atlanta”, “Real Housewives of Beverly Hills”, etc.  I also love educational programs like “I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant” and “Sister Wives”.  And I am unabashedly addicted to “The Walking Dead” and my main boo “Game of Thrones”.

I told P I needed some more time before we cut the life support on my little screen buddies.  Ultimately I think  pulling the plug is the best thing to do.  So “There Goes Honey Boo Boo”, bye bye Real Housewives and Sister Wives.  It was a fun ride while it lasted, but I guess it is time for me to tune in on a new reality show called “My Own Damn Life”.

Thanks so much for reading!  Wishing everyone who is a mother, or has a mother (which I guess would be pretty much everybody) a very happy Mother’s Day!

Ang

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Credit Card Debt Downdate

  1. Hey, I went straight for the jammies tonight, too, so it can’t be all THAT bad. It was raining pretty hard anyway. Sure hate to see you lose all of those wonderful educational programs, but let me ask… aren’t they all on “special channels”. At the risk of being the devil’s advocate here, might I suggest just dropping down to the basic cable level? Or, gasp, free TV that you can get with a real antenna! I know, it leaves you with only trashy stuff like the local newscast and PBS, but it might be better than complete deprivation. At any rate, congrats on the $1,000 drop!

  2. You can cut out cable TV and save money if you have WiFi in your house. Get a Roku or Amazon TV box for about $100 and stream most of those shows you like for free.

  3. It will speed up, I promise. When your debt is large, a higher proportion of what you pay is the interest rather than the debt itself. As you chip away at the mountain eventually you will be paying less interest and more debt, and it will start to shrink more quickly. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

