Couch to 5K…Oy Vey

Like many people (just take a trip to your local Walmart), I have let myself go when it comes to my body.  Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t kick me out of bed or anything, but I definitely would LOVE to lose 10-15 pounds and have a little less cushion for the pushin.

Last year I embarked on a couch to 5k challenge to ready myself for my first 5k race.  Once the race was over, I was over running.

A year later the scale is reminding me very much of Superman and my weight is going “up up and away”.

Time for a running redo.  Yesterday I started up the couch to 5K challenge again.  There are several ways to do it, but this is the particular schedule I am following:

Image

 The two minute run felt like two hours but I got through it.  My calves were burning and my pride was hurting but as my Sunday quotes blog from yesterday stated “Do not give up, the beginning is always the hardest”.  Amen to that!

Bonus:  Today was a rest day (though I did find time to walk during my lunch break and fit in a yoga class after work).

See you back tomorrow for an all new blog in my 93 days of blogging this summer!

Ang

9 thoughts on “Couch to 5K…Oy Vey

  1. C25K…wow! That’s awesome! If I were to attempt such a feat, I think they’d have to bury me where I fell…which would most likely be at some point during that 2-minute jog on Day 1! Lol! 🙂

  2. Oh man Ang, I feel like editing out my previous comment because that was supposed to be an intro to everything else I was going to say. Oh well here goes. I remember my first 6K run because I had nailed 5K a few times before so I wanted to take it up a notch. I went through some harsh hills that called for some serious mental strength. Going up those hills felt like 2 minutes of climbing. I know how you feel. I honestly cannot wait for the day you knockout 5K with ease!

    Great job, Ang. Great job

  3. This is great! I’ve always wanted to try a Couch to 5k program and now I have it =) I like that it starts off really simple and not crazy hard for the first week. Thanks for sharing and good luck!!

    1. Love the fact that you are going to give this a try! I have seen some programs that are only a month long, but I love the fact that this is spread out over 10 weeks, makes it more appealing to me! Thanks for the comment and good luck to you as well!

Leave a Reply

