Two Documentaries To Watch On Netflix

It has been one week since we officially cut off our cable.  Being out of the loop on all of my favorite Bravo housewives has led me to do some serious soul searching on how to spend my free time.  Enter Netflix.  Over the weekend, while most of the country was out on a beach, I was beating the heat by watching two docs that I would love to share with you all:

1.  Somm.

MV5BMTU0NDQ4MTY1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTMzMTgwOA@@._V1_SX214_AL_

My sister-in-law Kelsey (who happens to be a frequent reader of this blog…or at least she knows about it) recommended that P and I watch this documentary.  Insane!  It follows four gentlemen who happen to harbor the same passion/obsession:  To become a part of The Court of Master Sommeliers.  Seriously, you need to put this to your instant queue…oh, let me correct myself…it’s called “My list” now.  So put this on your “My List” and get to watching.

Can I also say how much I love watching people who are so unbelievable passionate about something?  I would give my left pinkie finger nail to be as passionate about something as these guys are about wine (though I do love my wine).

2.  Blackfish.

BLACKFISH_Film_Poster

Most of you have probably already seen this documentary, but I am a gal who is always late to the party.  This documentary is done extremely well (or should I say whale *wink* *wink*).  It’s 83 minutes long and I spent half the time in tears and the other half riled up.

The documentary’s focus is on an orca named Tilikum who was involved in the deaths of three people.  This film puts a very hot spotlight on the captivity of killer whales for performance purposes. Is the documentary skewed? Yes.  Does it have a blatant agenda?  You betcha.  When this gal goes to San Diego this fall to visit her brother Mike and his girlfriend Emily (who also are huge fans of this blog…or read it occasionally) will she be going to SeaWorld?  That would be an affirmative NO.

So check out these docs and let me know what you think, or if you have already seen them let me know what you thought.

Have a great night and join me tomorrow for an all new blog in my #93daysofblogging challenge.

Ang

4 thoughts on “Two Documentaries To Watch On Netflix

Leave a Reply

