A Very Real Love For The Real Housewives

53217536Though it has only been a handful of weeks since we made the decision to cut off our cable in order to save money, it feels like months at times. Especially when I know that one of my Real Housewives shows on Bravo is on and I am now out of the loop when it comes to all of the drama of these ladies.

My husband always asks what it is about these shows that I love? He legitimately gets upset about me watching these women cat fight it up. He says things like “You are such a smart, brilliant woman who is so out of my league on all levels but I can’t understand why you watch these women. Do you idolize them? Do you want to be like them? Why, just why?” 

Why?  Here is my defense for the love I have for these housewives.

It is a way for me to unwind and shut off my smart and brilliant brain.  rs_560x415-140310114344-1024-real-housewives-of-orange-county.ls.31014I work 40 hours a week where I read.  ALL.  DAY.  LONG.  I read code.  I edit.  Find issues/conflicts.  Then read some more.  My brain is fried each night and wants to be done thinking at the end of each workday.  Enter The Real Housewives of Orange County, The Real Housewives of New York, The Real Housewives of Atlanta, The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and The Real Housewives of  New Jersey.  I didn’t mention the Miami housewives because a girl needs to have standards.

All of their drama and materialism makes my tired brain strangely happy.

Do I admire these women?  No and yes.  Let me explain.

The Real Housewives of New York City - Season 6When it comes to money and materialism, no.  If I were ever in the financial position to be able to afford a $12,000 handbag,  I would hope I would find a better way in which to spend that $12,000.  I would never wear furs or snake skin shoes.  It is also very evident that some of these women live far BEYOND their means.  For all of these reasons, it is an affirmative no. I don’t admire the real housewives when it comes to their spending.

When it comes to how some of the housewives use the show as a platform to promote their brand, company, or cause, then yes.  I do admire them.

293.Frankel.tg.083011A good example of one of these housewives is Bethenny Frankel, one of the original housewives of New York.  In seasons 1 and 2 she is constantly hustling and mentioning the Skinnygirl Margarita.  She was the first housewife to realize that the show was a stage for her to strut around and preach to millions about her product.  Fast forward a few years and she ended up selling her Skinnygirl cocktails to Jim Beam for a reported $100 million.  Watching a woman who was one of the “poor” housewives turn herself into a multi-millionaire is something that any person should admire.

Lastly, I  want to make one more argument for why I love the Real Housewives franchise.  Their drama is not mine.  As a woman and an owner of a vagina, I crave drama!  All of us women do, and this is the best case scenario.  We get our drama fix without feeling the need to go out into the world and stir the pot.  So to my husband, you should be so thankful for my addiction to these shows.  Without them, I fear I may  have the urge to start creating drama in my real life.

Andy Cohen, if you could make all of the episodes of the Real Housewives available for free on http://www.bravotv.com that would be just lovely and a real marriage saver!

Thanks for reading and join me back here tomorrow for an all new blog in my #93daysofblogging challenge!

Ang

12 thoughts on “A Very Real Love For The Real Housewives

  1. I should show that to my husband. He always ask me why I watch it – my answer is usually that it’s such an alien world of drama that it sucks me in, lol And I don’t have to think. perfect combo for a reality show.

Leave a Reply

