My Lesson From 9/11

This morning I woke up at 3:30 A.M.  Waking up this early is not unusual for me but what I did next was.  I didn’t immediately try to go back to sleep or turn on the dull droning noise of an old episode of Seinfeld to lull me back into the bliss of unconsciousness.  I opened my eyes and took in the moment.

Instead of the sound of P’s snoring annoying the shit out of me, I found comfort in the fact that P, the man that I was lucky enough to find on this earth to love, was sleeping soundly next to me.

Instead of kicking two of my animals off the bed for leaving me thismuchroom to sleep, I listened to them breathing (not in a “crazy cat lady” way, in a “I am so blessed that these furry babies found their way into my life” kind of way).

Today always stirs up the all too vivid memory of where we were when 9/11 happened.  It was beyond tragic and gut-wrenching and it is very difficult to focus on anything but the tremendous loss that was felt 13 years ago.

After the mourning and life returned to the “new normal” for all of us, lessons start to be taken from it.

The lesson I took was simple:  No day is promised.  Savor and be thankful for every morning you wake up on this beautiful earth.

I don’t live by this rule every day.  Some days are just hard to get through and you can’t wait for them to be over but September 11 isn’t one of them.  It is the one day each year that I am very aware of all of the good that surrounds me.

Hope you all take a few minutes today to find some good in your world!

Ang

4 thoughts on “My Lesson From 9/11

Leave a Reply

