Hidden Treasures

So sorry I have been slacking on my blog guys.  I have been spending much needed time on moving my home office from one room to the other and cleaning out a massive amount of clutter that was in the spare room (I’m talking “Hoarders” type of clutter).

Last weekend while all of you were out enjoying life, I made the weekend be all about going through ALL of our paperwork (financial/junk mail/letters/taxes) and tossing the stuff that was no longer needed (like 2002 pay stubs) and filing away all things of importance.  After 10 hours it was finally finished.

IMAG1087_1Putting all of the disorder in some order provided me with one great find after another.  Found some birthday cards circa 2009 and there was money in them.  That along with some spare change amounted to the grand sum of $86.80.  That made my 10 hour day very much worth the work.

 

Grabbed a glass of wine to celebrate my awesomeness when I looked at the mountain of clothes still overtaking the spare room.  It may have been the red wine talking but all of a sudden I got the urge to purge.  Purging last weekend gave me the opportunity to have one of the most magical moments any 30 something woman could ever ask for:  I had a Carrie Bradshaw moment.  Let me explain.

IMAG1089_1Was going through the pockets of a purse I was going to donate to Goodwill when I saw a flash of gold.  Hmmm.  Upon further inspection it ended up being a clasp to something.  I pulled and found that it was my most favorite gold locket that I wore through a majority of my early to mid twenties that I thought I had lost forever.  I squealed with glee which turned into pure magic when I thought of Carrie Bradshaw in the Sex and the City finale.  She found her favorite “Carrie” necklace in the lining of her purse.  For those of you who are not fans of the show (which are probably any straight men reading this blog), the necklace was symbolic of her finding herself again.

 

The weekend ended with two full trash bags full of shredded papers and two full trash bags filled with clothes and half a dozen purses going to Goodwill.

Cleaning out the closet proved to be a lovely way to spend the weekend.

Ang

By the way, let me know if any of you have found anything cool or weird (I love weird) when cleaning out your clutter!

10 thoughts on “Hidden Treasures

  1. What a perfect Carrie moment you had!! I could only imagine your excitement when you found your lost locket!!

    I need to clean and organize because I’m missing a lot of things!! 😦

  2. It took you 10 hours and all you had was paper junk back to 2002? {groan} Mine goes back to 1996! And you didn’t find my sewing machine part either? I’ll have to look in old purses, too. What a beautiful necklace and wonderful find! During my first dive, my “treasures” were 2 crochet hooks and a bag of spring bulbs I was looking for — last spring. This weekend turned up a couple of nice sweaters and another carload of goodies for the thrift store. You will have to come help me, since you are obviously skilled at finding really good stuff ~ like money and jewelry. 😀

Leave a Reply

